Security Level Management

Security Level Management

Security Level Management (SLM) is a quality assurance system for IT security. The aim is to represent the security status of each individual system in the network transparently at all times. This transforms IT security into a measurable and manageable factor - And improves quality assurance considerably as a result, while minimising the residual risk. SLM supports the PCI DSS requirements 5 and 6 as well as the check phase performed by the information security management system (ISMS) in accordance with ISO/IEC 27001.

IT Security can only be improved continuously if the actual performance of the security systems in the network can be viewed at all times and compared with the target specifications. Security level management is a strategic management system that allows for just this: with aims, measures, revisions, and actions to be derived in the form of a management control cycle.

Security Level Management and systems for security information and event management (SIEM) need to be differentiated between. The main purpose of the latter is to support IT operations in pinpointing anomalies in the network, which are then reported by evaluating and comparing log data.

SLM is oriented towards the phases of the Deming Plan-Do-Check-Act Cycle. The steps are as follows:

Defining the security level (Plan):
During the Plan phase, concrete targets for individual security systems at the company are derived from abstract security policies. A security level consists of a collection of measurable limiting and threshold values. Operative aims like "the anti-virus systems at our German sites need to be at the newest level no later than four hours after the appearance of the current signature" are derived from parent security policies like "our virus protection system needs to be state-of -the-art", or "our employees should be able to work without being interrupted."

PDCA Cycle nach ISO 27001
PDCA Cycle

Collecting and analysing data (Do):
The information on the current status of the systems is gleaned from the log file and status reports provided by individual anti-virus, anti-spyware, or anti-spam consoles. The data is collected fully automatically and data integrity is guaranteed.

Checking the security level (Check):
SLM prescribes continual reconciliation of the security level defined against the current values measured. Automated real-time reconciliation supplies the company with a constantly up-to-date status report to assess the security situation across all locations.

Adjusting the security structure (Act):
The rolling observation of the security level allows weak spots in the network to be pinpointed early on. Proactive adjustments in the security systems can be made on this basis.

Instruments for security analysis, such as AMPEG Security Lighthouse, which function across all applications, irrespective of the vendor, come into play, especially in the "Do" and "Check" phases of the SLM cycle. The following enterprise IT security tasks shall be fulfilled:

  • Creating a central, standardized and vendor-independent database from the relevant security information specific to the security systems employed.
  • Constantly comparing target and actual values.
  • Visualizing the current security status in traffic light colors like the ones in the geographical overview on the AMPEG Security Lighthouse Security Information Map.
  • Checking the current security status constantly to ensure that the end points in the corporate network are adequately secured against current threats and weak spots.
  • Supporting processes for continually and efficiently improving electronic security through focused, cross-locational, long-term analyses of the security information.

Security Lighthouse

AMPEG Security Lighthouse is a vendor-independent tool for the overall Monitoring, Reporting and the Security Level Management.

Customer Voice KWS SAAT SE

Matthias Helmke, Head of Infrastructure at KWS, draws attention to another point: “If auditors want to check our security level, we can offer them an immediate and incredibly concrete way of doing so. We can also prepare reports quickly for specific target groups. All this dramatically simplifies audits.”

forward to references

Customer Voice IT.N (LSKN)

“We are now able to show our improvements with facts and figures – we have measurements and analyses that we can pass on to management. What once was a vague gut feeling about IT security has now become specific, quantitative knowledge.”

Michael Schätzke, former Security Officer, Landesbetrieb für Statistik und Kommunikationstechnologie Niedersachsen (Lower Saxony Institute for Statistics and Communication Technology)

forward to the references

Closing The Gap

Security Lighthouse represents the binding link between security management and IT operations.

Security Level Management

Security Level Management

„Security Level Management" (SLM) ist ein Qualitätssicherungssystem für die IT-Sicherheit. Das Ziel ist es, den Sicherheitsstatus für jedes einzelne System im Netzwerk sichtbar zu machen. Damit wird IT-Sicherheit zu einer messbaren und steuerbaren Größe. Die Qualitätssicherung wird erheblich verbessert und das Restrisiko minimiert. SLM unterstützt die PCI DSS Anforderungen 5 und 6 sowie die Check-Phase des Information Security Management System (ISMS) nach ISO 27001.

IT-Sicherheit lässt sich kontinuierlich verbessern, wenn die tatsächliche Leistung der Sicherheitswerkzeuge sichtbar ist und mit Soll-Vorgaben abgeglichen werden kann. Security Level Management ist das strategische Management-System, das genau dieses ermöglicht: mit Zielen, Maßnahmen, Revisionen und daraus abzuleitenden Handlungen in einem Management-Regelkreis.

Vom Security Level Management abzugrenzen sind Systeme für das Security Information and Event Management (SIEM). Die Hauptaufgabe dieser Produkte ist, den IT-Betrieb bei der Suche nach Anomalien im Netzwerk zu unterstützen, die durch Auswertung und Vergleich von Logdaten gemeldet werden.

SLM orientiert sich an den Phasen des Plan-Do-Check-Act-Zyklus des Demingkreises. Die Schritte sind wie folgt:

Security Level festlegen (Plan):
In der Planphase werden aus abstrakten Security Policies konkrete Ziele für die einzelnen Sicherheitssysteme im Unternehmen abgeleitet. Ein Security Level besteht aus einer Sammlung messbarer Grenz- und Schwellenwerte. Aus übergeordneten Security Policies wie „Unser Virenschutz muss State of the Art sein" oder „Mitarbeiter sollen unterbrechungsfrei arbeiten können" werden operative Ziele wie „Die Antivirensysteme an unseren deutschen Standorten müssen innerhalb von vier Stunden nach Erscheinen der aktuellen Signatur auf dem neuesten Stand sein" abgeleitet.

PDCA Cycle nach ISO 27001
PDCA Cycle

Daten sammeln, analysieren (Do):
Die Informationen zum Ist-Zustand der Systeme werden aus den Log-Daten und Statusberichten der Konsolen der einzelnen Sicherheitslösungen gewonnen. Die Sammlung der Daten geschieht vollautomatisch, die Datenintegrität ist gewährleistet.

Security Level prüfen (Check):
SLM sieht einen kontinuierlichen Abgleich des definierten Security Level mit den gemessenen Ist-Werten vor. Ein automatisierter Echtzeitabgleich liefert Unternehmen einen permanent aktuellen Statusbericht zur standortübergreifenden Beurteilung der Sicherheitslage.

Schutzstruktur anpassen (Act):
Durch die fortlaufende Beobachtung des Security Levels können Schwachpunkte im Netzwerk frühzeitig identifiziert werden. Auf dieser Grundlage lassen sich proaktiv Anpassungen an den Schutzsystemen vornehmen.

Herstellerübergreifend arbeitende Werkzeuge wie das AMPEG Security Lighthouse kommen vor allem bei der „Do"- und der „Check"-Phase eines SLM-Zyklus ins Spiel. Folgende Aufgaben sollen für die IT-Sicherheit von Unternehmen, insbesondere für jene die kritische Infrastrukturen (KRITIS) betreiben, erfüllt werden:

  • Eine zentrale, normalisierte und herstellerunabhängige Datenbasis aus den relevanten Sicherheitsinformationen der eingesetzten Sicherheitssysteme bilden.
  • Soll- und Ist-Werte permanent abgleichen.
  • Den aktuellen Sicherheitsstatus in Ampelfarben und in einer geografischen Übersicht visualisieren, wie beispielsweise die Security Information Map des AMPEG Security Lighthouse.
  • Den Sicherheitsstatus kontinuierlich prüfen, um sicherzustellen, dass die Endpunkte des Unternehmensnetzes ausreichend gegen aktuelle Bedrohungen und Schwachstellen geschützt sind.
  • Die Prozesse zur kontinuierlichen Verbesserung der elektronischen Sicherheit durch gezielte, standortübergreifende Langzeitanalysen der Sicherheitsinformationen effizient unterstützen.
  • Das Security Management und die Security Officer dabei unterstützen, eine messbare Verbesserung der Informationssicherheit zu erreichen und eine Qualitätssicherung in der IT-Sicherheit zu etablieren, um das Restrisiko zu minimieren.

Security Lighthouse

Das AMPEG Security Lighthouse ist ein herstellerunabhängiges Werkzeug für das übergreifende Monitoring, Reporting und das Security Level Management.

Kundenstimme KWS SAAT SE

Matthias Helmke, Head of Infrastructure bei KWS, weist auf einen weiteren Punkt hin: „Wenn Wirtschaftsprüfer einen Blick auf unser Sicherheitsniveau werfen wollen, können wir dieses sofort und in bemerkenswert anschau­licher Form anbieten. Auch Reports lassen sich schnell und zielgruppengerecht erstellen. All dies erleichtert Audits erheblich."

weiter zu den Referenzen

Kundenstimme IT.N (LSKN)

„Wir können die Verbesserungen nun schwarz auf weiß belegen, haben Messwerte und Zahlen, die wir auch an das Management weitergeben können. Ein gutes Bauchgefühl in Bezug auf den Sicherheitsstatus wurde ersetzt durch exaktes Wissen."

Michael Schätzke, ehemaliger Sicherheitsbeauftragter beim Landesbetrieb für Statistik und Kommunikationstechnologie Niedersachsen (LSKN).

weiter zu den Referenzen

Lücken schließen

Das Security Lighthouse ist das Bindeglied zwischen Security Management und dem IT-Betrieb.